A Soccer Star, A Corporate Trailblazer, and a Virtual Reality Inventor among those to be honored at the CARAH Awards on November 17, 2023

A Soccer Star, A Corporate Trailblazer, and a Virtual Reality Inventor among those to be honored at the CARAH Awards on November 17, 2023

Photo courtesy of the Institute of Caribbean Studies

By Institute of Caribbean Studies

The Institute of Caribbean Studies (ICS) is thrilled to announce the line-up of honorees for the highly anticipated 30th Annual Caribbean American Heritage (CARAH) Awards (CARAH)  Gala.

This prestigious event, scheduled for November 17th, 2023, at the iconic JW Marriott in Washington, D.C., promises to be a resplendent tribute to outstanding sons and daughters of the Caribbean, and to shine a radiant spotlight on their outstanding contributions across diverse sectors, including the Arts, Entrepreneurship, Science and Technology, Sports, and Public Service.  The ICS is a leading advocate for promotion of the recognition of the contributions of Caribbean heritage and culture in American lifeways and history. ICS serves as a platform for promoting awareness, recognition, and appreciation of the contributions of Caribbean Americans to the United States and the world.

- Advertisement -

The CARAH Awards have long been a beacon of celebration, spotlighting the remarkable achievements of Caribbean Americans and Friends of the Caribbean.. This year is no exception, as we gather to honor these exceptional individuals whose contributions have not only helped to shape the American narrative but have also left an indelible mark on our shared history. Their stories illuminate the extraordinary talents and unwavering resilience of the Caribbean American diaspora, perfectly aligning with the overarching mission of ICS flagship project,  National Caribbean American Heritage Month.

Under the theme “A Celebration of Excellence and Service,” the CARAH honorees will be joined by an illustrious assembly of some 300 distinguished guests, including national and international dignitaries. This  grand event promises to continue the tradition of providing an evening of inspiration, cultural richness, and unparalleled camaraderie.

Dr. Claire Nelson, President and Founder of the ICS, expressed heartfelt gratitude for the privilege of acknowledging and celebrating over 200 remarkable individuals over the years at the CARAH Awards.  She stated, “This year’s honorees exemplify a distinguished cohort of Caribbean trailblazers, visionary leaders, daring pioneers, and exceptional people who have made indelible marks in their field of endeavor.  Truly our well will never run dry..”

Dr. Nelson further cited that “Beyond the celebration, the CARAH Awards play a vital role in advancing the organization’s mission. This mission seeks to ensure that discussions about the future of America and its relationships with the nations on its Third Border encompass a deep recognition of the inseparable historical ties between the United States and the Caribbean and the contributions immigrants from the Caribbean make to America’s flourishing.”

- Advertisement -


The honorees for the 30th Annual CARAH Awards include:

  1. Forerunner Award: Team Antigua Island Girls, first all-black female crew to row the Atlantic and the Pacific Ocean ( Antigua & Barbuda);
  2. Excellence in Science and Technology Award: Richie Etwaru, Co-Founder, Mobeus  (Guyana)
  3. Luminary Award: Stephen ‘Cat’ Coore, Foundation Member,  Third World Band (Jamaica)
  4. Marcus Garvey Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Sports: Lincoln Phillips, the first Black Professional Soccer Coach in the USA (Trinidad & Tobago)
  5. Outstanding Social Entrepreneurship Award: Cleve Mesidor, Founding Executive Director, National Blockchain Foundation  (Haiti)
  6. Outstanding Public Service Award: Hon. Michael Blake, Former Assemblyman and  Vice-Chair, Democratic National Committee (Jamaica)
  7. Outstanding Contributions to Corporate America: Stuart Archibald, Head Wealth Management Strategy at TIAA (St. Vincent & the Grenadines);  and
  8. Trailblazer Award: Jacky Wright, Chief Technology and Platform Office (CTPO), McKinsey   (Jamaica)

For additional information about the CARAH Awards, please visit https://bit.ly/carahawards2023

Join us in celebrating these remarkable honorees and the rich heritage of the Caribbean American community. Stay tuned for more updates and highlights as we approach this momentous occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.